Checking His List

Today I told Liam that Santa was watching him.  My 10 month old.  He doesn’t know who Santa is, why Santa would be watching him, or care either way.  In fact, the extent of Liam’s English language skills are mama, dada, and baaa (when asked what a sheep says. I know–a genius.)  It was weird, it really just popped out of my mouth.  I was trying to get pants on him and he was squawking at me while flipping his body around like a fish out of water.  I trying to speak in a convincing, soothing tone: “Liiiam, Mommy will be done in oonnne minute if you just lay still! 1, 2, pants on you, 1, 2, 3, pants on me.  La, la, la we love pants.  Please stop kicking and we’ll have these on in just a second.  Liam. Liam. Liam. Liam! Santa’s watching you!”

Give or take a few sentences that sums up the scenario.  Why?  Why did I bring Santa into this?  Is it an innate mommy reflex?  Was this my first bribe/threat?  I clearly need to take a deep breath and pick a better battle than pants.  I mean, what happens when he’s 4 and is throwing a tantrum in the grocery store or wants a tattoo?

One thought on “Checking His List

Leave a Reply

