Good Night, Sleep Tight: The Third Night

We’re all back to work/daycare today so I’m writing about last night while Husband is putting down for Fourth Night.  Sorry, that may be confusing…onward and upward with recount of the THIRD night.

Yesterday we had such spot on naps that we were able to start a bath for Liam at 6:00 pm!  This is an excitedly early start for us.  He was asleep by about 7:15.  What is becoming more and more beautifully apparent is that with an earlier bedtime I can actually accomplish something in the evening!  Try to understand that prior to this Liam would fall asleep in the car on the way home from daycare, I let him sleep in the car until around 5:30 (because I didn’t think he’d be ready for bed, but didn’t want him to miss a nap) and then after we rushed through cooking and dinner we would inconsistently and feebly start the bedtime routine around 7:30, not sure if he was sleepy.  And by the time Liam actually stayed asleep it could be around 9-9:30.  The kitchen would be a disaster from our harried dinner.  I would need to correct student work, sometimes try to pump another bottle, wash the pump, and since I hadn’t had a break since I got up at 5:15 a.m. (since I pump during my lunch break at school) I was craving an opportunity to sit and watch tv, check email, waste my life on facebook (sadly my only social life is an online social life)… but within an hour Liam would be back up and then I’d just have to climb into bed with him for the duration of the night.  My days and nights were blending together in a monotonous and energy-draining breathlessness.

After his 7:15 sleep time last night I cleaned the master bathroom (which may leave a question mark hovering over your head…unless you’d seen my bathroom prior to last night), did two loads of laundry, cleaned up dishes from dinner and graded spelling tests.  I’m already wiling away my spare time frivolously blogging.  Except I tell Husband I’m “sleep logging” so that it seems more important.  The Sleep Lady says it helps to log what happens and we will now do whatever The Sleep Lady says.  Yes, including jumping off a bridge.

My own sleep time is a little blurry, because Liam self-soothed during three of his wake-ups, within minutes!  He still woke up the same amount of times, but Husband didn’t have to get out of bed for three of them!  Husband says Liam got him back at 5:15 a.m. because he had decided it was morning time and Husband wouldn’t take him out of the crib (too early by Sleep Lady standards) but after about half an hour Liam fell back asleep until 7 a.m.  Which is the perfect time for me to nurse him before I leave for work.

For Night 4 you move the rocking chair halfway across the room, still in the room where the baby can see you and hear you, but you’re supposed to wean away from the patting, and direct contact.  I’m looking forward to seeing when he stops waking up six times a night.  Maybe tonight??

******

Read about our sleep adventure from the beginning!

Good Night, Sleep Tight: Intro of What’s to Come

Good Night, Sleep Tight: The First Night

Good Night, Sleep Tight: The Second Night

Interested in learning more about The Sleep Lady and her book?  Click on the picture of her book to go to her website:

2 thoughts on “Good Night, Sleep Tight: The Third Night

  1. Pingback: Good Night, Sleep Tight: The Fourth Night | The Bebe Diaries

Leave a Reply

