My Apparently Unbiased View of My Baby

Heeey. I know I’ve been a bit of a Debbie Downer lately, with that whole leaving-my-first-born-love-of-my-life-at-daycare-instead-of-raising-him-myself thing and all…so I’m going to try to turn that frown upside down.  (Reread that last part again with stiff lips as it should sound.) No, really though, I have reason to feel some peace.

I knew I had found an amazing childcare center.  If you look back at one of the earliest posts in this diary, while I was still pregnant, I wrote about how distressed I was about daycares already and that there was only ONE PLACE I could imagine my unborn child attending.  This is exactly where he’s going.  My comfort level about the daycare has always been high, it was always just the actual act of leaving him and wanting to be the one to raise him that’s been the issue. Someday I’ll write the blog about how we shouldn’t make women feel guilty about staying home and raising their own children. But that’s another day.

Today I’m beyond grateful that when I’ve talked to Liam’s teachers, Miss Kate and Miss Sonya, they tell me with such genuine sincerity about how they’ve enjoyed their day with Liam. How he has the best smile and flirts with them. He explores his environment and laughs with the other babies. How they love his personality and they’re glad that he’s joined their room.

Maybe they know how to sweet talk a mama, because I’ve taken the bait hook, line and sinker. They love him and appreciate him already! But how could they not? I appreciate that others in Liam’s life can see the amazing spirit that he has. And it’s nice to know that it’s not just a mother’s love that sees the beautiful baby that I have.

Even though it’s cheating, because I took this picture a couple of weeks ago on a visit to our childcare center, here’s the fabulous Baby of the Day having fun at daycare:

3 thoughts on “My Apparently Unbiased View of My Baby

  1. It makes a world of difference in YOUR work, when you know that Liam is having the best time! I appreciate that relaxed feeling so much…and it does not matter how old they get…. I am so glad for you, that things are smoothing out! Enjoy!!

  2. I just found your blog, so I haven’t read the angst from previous posts but I’ve certainly felt it myself. PLANNING to leave my baby (who is now 13!!!) with someone else was the most traumatizing experience of my life. I would have severed a limb not to have to.

    But then I did it. And it got easier. Most days.

    There were still times where he (and his younger sister – who is now 11) didn’t want to go to their daycare (which I loved, by the way, or I couldn’t have done it); but kids have cranky days or sad days or tired days just like us so it wasn’t an indictment on their loving teachers. We all just wanted to stay in bed.

    In any case, congratulations on finding a place that makes you feel at ease. There will still be tough days. Guilty days (unfortunately). Days with tears. But you’ve taken the first and hardest step.

    Wishing you luck, fellow mama. Hang in there. Tight.

Leave a Reply

