Losing It

…my mind?  No.  The dreaded baby weight.  And so, the games begin.  I told myself, “Self, you have until the 6 week postpartum mark to continue eating carefree, no scale-jumping, and just get yourself adjusted as a mom without worrying about when you’ll exercise.”

My Self agreed wholeheartedly that this would be a splendid way to do things.  However, the old 6-week postpartum checkup was last week so the jig is up.  As I discarded anything unnecessary before getting on the scale (sunglasses, shoes, pants…) I recalled that the last time I had been on was the day I went into labor.  I had gained 45 lbs.  That’s a lot of weight for my 5’3″ frame that has mostly been on the petite side.

This time I felt I had won a small battle right away because I didn’t have to move the bottom lever to the 150 mark.  Barely though.  So, I had lost an even 30 lbs. in 6 weeks by doing “nothing.” (But nursing!)

The midwife who examined me said that my stomach muscles hadn’t quite fused back together yet.  Particularly in my lower abdomen.  Remember if you will that my stomach was HUGE.  And delivered a 9 lb. 3 oz. baby.

So, I’ll be tracking the process here because I need to feel a sense of accountability.

1 year ago June 09

 

You know what’s wrong with the next picture?  The baby is next to me, not inside me!

1 week dr appt

Next I’ll need to add a picture of me now.
**Look for updates on the Losing It page.
Leave a Reply

